heart, chakra, balance, energy, reiki, meditation, attunement, align, health, love, compassion, healing

The Fourth Chakra: Heart Chakra

Anahata, the heart chakra or the fourth chakra is at the centre of the chakras, between the first three and last three. It is placed at the centre of the chest and balances the world of spirit and matter.

The heart chakra  is our source of energy for joy, compassion, happiness, love. A perfectly balanced anahata allows us to live in harmony with those feelings, free from hurt and pain, expressing compassion and caring for all living things, heal emotionally and physically, connect deeply to others. You will feel at ease with yourself and those around you.

This chakra is incredibly important for healing, as it is the channel from which universal and infinite love flows through us, allowing us to heal others.

Symptoms of an imbalanced heart chakra

When your fourth chakra isn’t balanced, aligned or attuned, you may feel grief, despair, anger, your love will be restricted and insecure. You will find yourself in relationships that do not work, either giving and not receiving, or only giving love under certain conditions, demanding people be “a certain way. You will have a negative outlook on life, feel unworthy, unwanted, be judgemental and/or feel emotionally dependant. You will have a hard time trusting and loving others if your chakra is underactive.

Physical symptoms may include chest pain, asthma, allergies, high or low blood pressure and poor circulation.


If you think your fourth chakra might be blocked or needs balancing, ask yourself:


Are you feeling hurt emotionally?

Are you having destructive thoughts about yourself or someone else?

Are you facing issues accepting someone or yourself as you are?

Are you being indifferent?

Are you feeling jealous?

Are you lacking in generosity?

Are you feeling bitter about something?

Do you have trust issues?

Think about these questions and you will know if your heart chakra isn’t properly aligned and energised.

How to balance the heart chakra

There are several ways one can work on the heart chakra. We recommend Reiki or similar energy based therapies, but if you don’t have access to them, there are things you can do at home that will help:


Meditate while focusing on your heart chakra. Try to sense it, be aware of your fears and anxieties, let them go slowly. Try to envision the colour green or pink at the location of the fourth chakra.

Loving Kindness meditation is also beneficial for balancing the heart chakra.


Green foods, such as lettuce, collard, cabbage, arugula, cucumber, peas, green bell peppers, broccoli, kale, kelp and sprouts are good choices for balancing the heart chakra. Also green fruit such as green apples and kiwis.


Wear green and light green candles around the home. You can also decorate with green posters, pictures or nature themed objects.


Push ups, swimming, yoga, and any exercise that focuses on the chest area.

Forgiveness Letter

Write a forgiveness letter to someone or yourself. You don’t have to send it if you don’t want to. Write down everything you want to say, it doesn’t have to make perfect sense, simply write down everything that comes to mind. You will feel the benefits soon afterwards.


Use affirmations to balance your chakra. Work on the issues that you have difficulty with. Say things like “I forgive myself” and “I see love all around me”.


Wear or keep close to you a crystal that has a vibrational frequency that resonates with the heart chakra. Rose Quartz, Emerald and Green Jade are a few crystals you can use, provided they are cleansed and energized.

Try smiling at everyone you see daily, be kind to all living things. This is the best way to keep your heart chakra balanced. Learn to forgive and to accept without judgement.

Leave a Comment